Discussion: View Thread

Call for Nominations: Careers Division Hughes Award

  • 1.  Call for Nominations: Careers Division Hughes Award

    Posted 03-17-2022 03:45
    Dear Careers Division members,

    It is my pleasure to formally announce the call for nominations for the Careers Division Hughes Award. Below, you can find all the information you need about the procedure. Thank you in advance for considering nominations for this prestigious award!

    Best wishes,

    Call for Nominations:
    The Everett Cherrington Hughes Award for Careers Scholarship
    Deadline: April 30, 2022


    The Hughes award recognizes scholarship that has made a significant contribution to linking careers research with the broader field of organization studies.


    It is a premier Careers Division award, a way of honoring scholars who have worked to build bridges between careers and other areas of social and organizational inquiry. With the permission of his family, the award carries the name of Everett Cherrington Hughes. It does so to commemorate his influential role in establishing careers as an object of scholarly study, but more particularly because it rewards the kind of contribution his work embodied. Past recipients of the award are Edgar Schein, Tim Hall, Lotte Bailyn, Michael Arthur, Jeffrey Greenhaus, Barbara Lawrence, Kathy Kram, John van Maanen, Denise Rousseau, and Stephen Barley.


    There is no requirement, express or implied, that the award recipient is a current or former member of the Careers Division or the Academy of Management.


    Nominators should submit all materials together in a single email directly to committee chair Maury Peiperl (mpeiperl@gmu.edu) by April 30, 2022. To be considered, nomination materials must include (1) a letter of support from the primary nominator, (2) a copy of the nominee's curriculum vita, and (3) at least one additional letter of support. Letters of support should clearly detail how the nominee meets the requirements of this award. 


    Thank you in advance for your participation in this crucial process. Please email Maury Peiperl with any questions. 



    Maury Peiperl, Chair 

    Svetlana Khapova, CAR Division Member

    Michel Anteby, External Member



    Best wishes,


    Jos Akkermans

    Careers Division Chair, 2022

    Jos Akkermans
    Associate Professor
    Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam