Message from the Division Chair 2019-2020

Dear Careers (CAR) Division Members and Friends,

It is an honor and a pleasure to serve as Careers Division Chair this coming year, 2019-2020! I look forward to working with all of you and am confident it’s going to be a phenomenal year where we accomplish many new things for our division. Below, I have highlighted what I see as the main goals for our division based on our recent 5-year review as well as on observations and recommendations from CARs Executive Committee and members:

Goal 1: Improve Productive Interaction among junior and senior scholars
Goal 2: Improve Opportunities for Research Collaboration among Members
Goal 3: Provide Value to the Membership beyond the AOM Conference
Goal 4: Raise the Scholarly Prestige of the Division
Goal 5: Continued Efforts to Recruit, Engage and Sustain Membership & Sponsorship

We have several committees in place who are serving our community well by targeting our specific division goals. If YOU are interested in getting more involved in the Careers Division, please let me know - we are always searching for volunteers (j.ladge@northeastern.edu). Also, I would like to remind everyone that we always encourage nominations and self-nominations. The window for nominating is not open yet, which means there is plenty of time for enquiring about what it takes to serve on the Careers Division EC. Please contact me or anyone on the EC for information and insights!

Thank you all for your efforts (submitting your work, reviewing submissions) and for otherwise participating in the division’s activities. I look forward to a great year ahead.

Jamie Ladge

Division Chair, Careers Division

Hughes Award

On August 7, 2017, at the Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management in Atlanta, Georgia, USA, Denise Rousseau (Carnegie Mellon U.) delivered the Everett Cherrington Hughes Award speech.

Latest Discussions

  • Posted in: Careers CAR

    Dear CARs Division members, Hope you are safe and doing well. As you are aware, the publication of our Newsletter was postponed due to the uncertainties regarding this year's Conference. Now that things are moving forward, we are on our way to prepare ...

  • Profile Picture

    My apologies!

    Posted in: Careers CAR

    Dear Careers Colleagues: Okay, I screwed up (no surprise).  Yesterday I posted a message to the Careers Division network that was intended for the Gender & Diversity in Organizations Division.   I've since sent the message to the appropriate discussion ...

Sponsors 2019